WASHINGTON – To support the next generation of agricultural professionals, National Farmers Union Foundation (NFUF) today announced the 2023 recipients of its annual scholarship awards. 

Every year, the organization presents several scholarships to students in any area of study attending a two- or four-year accredited college, university, or technical school who have demonstrated academic excellence and a commitment to their communities.  

“Education is the base of everything that we do here at National Farmers Union,” said NFU President Rob Larew. “To secure a bright future for our organization and American agriculture, we need to ensure that young people have the educational resources they need to become tomorrow’s leaders. NFU is proud to support these young minds as they further their education.” 

Molly Jennings of North Dakota received the Hubert K. & JoAnn Seymour Scholarship, a $2,000 scholarship award given in honor of the dedication and commitment to Farmers Union and family farming by Hubert and his wife JoAnn. Hubert K. Seymour was a leader in the Farmers Union organization throughout his life at both the state and national levels. He served the Illinois Farmers Union as secretary-treasurer for eight years and vice president for 12 years before he stepped down in 1990. He farmed full-time with his wife until his passing in 1994. 

In addition, three Farmers Union members were each awarded a $1,500 Stanley Moore Scholarship, in memory of the award’s namesake, a long-time Farmers Union member and visionary leader, including his roles as NFU Vice President and chairman of the NFU Insurance Companies board. The recipients of the Stanley Moore Scholarship are Tessa Kooij of Wisconsin, Natalie Beckendorf of Minnesota, and Megan Larson of North Dakota.   

NFU also presented two $1,500 Minorities in Agriculture, Natural Resources and Related Sciences (MANRRS) scholarships, which were open to MANRRS members and their children. The initiative is part of a formal commitment between NFU and MANRRS to provide educational and leadership opportunities for young people of all racial and ethnic identities, develop federal policy priorities, and extend each other’s reach within agricultural communities. Elijah McCray and Yevyn Williams, both of Alabama, are the recipients of this award. 

Applications for the 2024 scholarship awards open in December 2023. More information about the scholarships is available on the NFU website at NFU.org/education/scholarships. 

Leave a Reply