Contact: Brittany Jablonsky, 701-690-0000
[email protected]

SANTA FE, N.M. (March 10, 2014) – Delegates at the National Farmers Union (NFU) 112th Anniversary Convention re-elected Roger Johnson president of the organization and Donn Teske, Kansas Farmers Union president, NFU vice president.

“I am grateful that the membership will allow me to serve for two more years,” said Johnson. “I am honored to lead this organization and am looking forward to working with Donn to continue the time-honored traditions of Farmers Union.”

Johnson is NFU’s 14th president, a position he has held since 2009. Johnson hails from a family farm near Turtle Lake, N.D., and grew up as an active member of Farmers Union. Prior to his post at Farmers Union, he was the North Dakota Commissioner of Agriculture.

“I am so humbled by the faith and trust the delegates have shown by electing me vice president,” said Teske. “ I’ll do my best to help President Johnson move the organization forward under the direction of the grassroots policy formed here today.

Teske was elected from a field of three candidates, and replaces former NFU Vice President Claudia Svarstad, who did not seek re-election.

Teske has served as Kansas Farmers Union president since 2000 and is a fifth generation farmer in northeast Kansas.

For more information about the NFU convention, visit, or follow @nfudc and #NFU2014 on Twitter.

National Farmers Union has been working since 1902 to protect and enhance the economic well-being and quality of life for family farmers, ranchers and rural communities through advocating grassroots-driven policy positions adopted by its membership.


Leave a Reply